CWC19 England squad announced on 17 April 2019


England will finalise their final 15-man World Cup squad after the five-match ODI Series against Pakistan, which culminates at Headingley on May 19.

England have not picked uncapped all-rounder Jofra Archer in a preliminary 15-man World Cup squad but have named him in squads for the warm-up games against Pakistan and Ireland.

“In line with ICC (International Cricket Council regulations, we have to name a preliminary squad of 15 for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup before April 23,” Smith added.
“The selection panel has been impressed with Jofra Archer’s performances in domestic and franchise cricket. He is a very talented and exciting cricketer,” national selector Ed Smith said.
Woakes said: “We’ve been a tight-knit group for the last two to three years, played some really strong cricket, won a lot of series
England need variety in their pace attack if they are to win the World Cup for the first time, and Archer can supply it with his range of skills – which include reverse swing at the end of an innings.
A slight surprise is the inclusion of a third spinner in Joe Denly, rather than Sam Billings who could act as a super sub fielder.

England preliminary 15-man ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Squad:

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex, captain)
Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)
Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire)
Jos Buttler (Lancashire)
Tom Curran (Surrey)
Joe Denly (Kent)
Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire)
Liam Plunkett (Surrey)
Adil Rashid (Yorkshire)
Joe Root (Yorkshire)
Jason Roy (Surrey)
Ben Stokes (Durham)
David Willey (Yorkshire)
Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)
Mark Wood (Durham).

England’s 17-man squad to play Pakistan ODIs: Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Chris Jordan, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

England’s 14-man squad to play Ireland ODI and Pakistan T20I: Eoin Morgan (captain), Jofra Archer, Sam Billings, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Chris Jordan, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, James Vince, David Willey, Mark Wood.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here