2nd April 2011: ICC Cricket World Cup Final Highlights

World cup 2011 final highlights
2nd April 2011: MS Dhoni Ends India’s World Cup Wait in Style

On This Day, Saturday, April 2nd, India won the 2011 Cricket World Cup, defeating Sri Lanka by 6 wickets in the final, played at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, India. While 33,000 spectators watched the final in person, some estimates have placed the number of TV viewers worldwide at well over 1 billion people – perhaps the most-viewed sports event ever.

Image result for world cup 2011

Way back in 2011 former India skipper MS Dhoni launched pacer Nuwan Kulasekara for a helicopter shot six over the long-on to end India’s 28-year-old wait and helped his team India lift the coveted World Cup trophy in front of a jam-packed Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

India defeated Sri Lanka by six wickets to lift their second World Cup title. The spectacular victory sent the entire nation into a uproar as people took to the streets to celebrate India’s victory.

Team India marched into the finals after beating arch-rivals Pakistan in semi-final. On the other hand, Kumar Sangakkara-led Sri Lanka went past New Zealand to set-up a summit clash with Dhoni and his men.

Indian Second Inning Chase

Chasing 275 to create history, the Men in Blue were off to a terrible start as they lost openers Virender Sehwag (0) and Sachin Tendulkar (18) early. Gautam Gambhir played the role of a pivot as he scored a brilliant 97 off 122 and shared an 83-run stand with Virat Kohli (35) for the third wicket.

Dhoni had something else in mind as he decided to come up the order ahead of Yuvraj Singh after Kohli lost his wicket to Tillakaratne Dilshan. Dhoni (91*) and Gambhir stitched a partnership of 109 runs for the fourth wicket to take India to a comfortable position.

MS Dhoni won the match for India with his trademark six off Nuwan Kulasekara towards long-on region. “Dhoni finishes off in style. A magnificent strike into the crowd. India lift the World Cup after 28 years,” Ravi Shastri marked the moment in his immortal voice.

Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat
Sri Lanka innings

U. Tharanga c Sehwag b Khan 2
T. Dilshan b Harbhajan Singh 33
K. Sangakkara c Dhoni b Yuvraj Singh 48
M. Jayawardene not out 103
T. Samaraweera lbw b Yuvraj Singh 21
C. Kapugedera c Raina b Khan 1
N. Kulasekara run out 32
T. Perera not out 22
Extras (b 1 lb 3 w 6 nb 2) 12
Total (for six wickets; 50 overs) 274
Fall of wickets: 1-17 2-60 3-122 4-179 5-182 6-248
Did not bat: L. Malinga, S. Randiv, M. Muralitharan

Bowling: Z. Khan 10-3-60-2 (1w), S Sreesanth 8-0-52-0 (2nb), M. Patel 9-0-41-0 (1w), Harbhajan Singh 10-0-50-1 (1w), Yuvraj Singh 10-0-49-2, S. Tendulkar 2-0-12-0 (3w), V. Kohli 1-0-6-0

India innings

V. Sehwag lbw b Malinga 0
S. Tendulkar c Sangakkara b Malinga 18
G. Gambhir b Perera 97
V. Kohli c & b Dilshan 35
MS Dhoni not out 91
Yuvraj Singh not out 21
Extras: (b-1, lb-6, w-8) 15
Total: (for four wickets, 48.2 overs) 277
Fall of wickets: 1-0 2-31 3-114 4-223

Did not bat: S. Raina, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, S. Sreesanth, M. Patel.

Bowling: Malinga 9-0-42-2 (2w), Kulasekara 8.2-0-64-0, Perera 9-0-55-1 (2w), Randiv 9-0-43-0, Dilshan 5-0-27-1 (1w), Muralitharan 8-0-39-0 (1w)

Player of the match: MS Dhoni (India)

Watch Highlights


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here