Karthik, Vijay in India’s World Cup squad, Pant and Rayudu Will Miss Out

Team India World Cup Squad
India Squad for World Cup 2019


A team of Five selectors along with team India captain Virat Kohli have picked their 15-man squad who will represent India at the ICC World Cup 2019 that will begin on May 30.

After New Zealand and Australia India became the third team to name their squad for the upcoming World Cup in England on Monday.

The biggest talking points from this squad announcement are the inclusions of Dinesh Karthik and Vijay Shankar over Rishabh Pant and Ambati Rayudu.

The inclusion of Karthik left no place for Rishabh Pant as there can be only one option for wicketkeeping provided if MS Dhoni gets injured.

KL Rahul will be another player who is an option for that No.4 spot, but he’s primarily in the squad as a reserve opener. However, there was no place for Ambati Rayudu.

Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami and Bhuvneshwar Kumar will be the three mainstream pacers following Pandya and Shankar will providing a bit of seam-bowling options. Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal were included as specialist spinners.

Chairman of selectors, MSK Prasad stated that Karthik was preferred over Pant due to his superior ‘keeping skills.

“Definitely a case where we debated (at) length. We all (agreed) that either Rishabh Pant or Dinesh Karthik will come in only when (Dhoni) is injured. In an important game, wicket keeping is also important. That’s the reason we went with Dinesh Karthik,” said Prasad.

Speaking about Rayudu’s exclusion, Prasad said: “After the Champions Trophy (2017), we tried quite a few people in that position. We did give a few more chances to Rayudu. Vijay Shankar is three dimensional. We are looking at him at no. 4 to begin with. We also have Dinesh Karthik and Kedar Jadhav. It’s not that anything that went against (Rayudu), it’s that a few things went for (Vijay Shankar).”

“To begin with KL (Rahul) will be reserve opener if a need arises the team management will take a call,” he added.

India World Cup Squad

Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Vijay Shankar, KL Rahul, Dinesh Karthik

Read More: ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Schedule pdf Download

Australia World Cup squad

Aaron Finch (captain), Usman Khawaja, David Warner, Steve Smith, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Jhye Richardson, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Lyon, Adam Zampa

New Zealand World Cup Squad

Kane Williamson (C), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here