Virat Kohli is Wisden Cricket’s Leading Cricketer of the Year


WISDEN: British book of information about cricket. It has been published each year since 1864 and contains details such as the results of all the previous year’s matches and the achievements of individual players. It also contains a lot of historical information and essays on various aspects of the game. Many lovers of cricket collect copies of Wisden from different years.

Wisden states that “excellence in, or influence on, the previous English summer are the major criteria for inclusion as a Cricketer of the Year”, and seeing as Kohli had managed just 134 runs at 13.40 on his previous Test tour in 2014, this was his first real opportunity to claim an exclusive honour that – unlike the Leading Cricketer award – can only be achieved once in any player’s career.
It was double delight for India as it swept the Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack Wednesday with Virat Kohli and Smriti Mandhana clinching the ‘Leading Cricketer of Year’ honours, continuing their award-winning spree. Kohli and Mandhana had won big in the last ICC Awards night too. Mandhana was adjudged ‘Women’s Cricketer of the Year’ as well as the ‘Women’s ODI Player of the Year’ by the ICC in December, while the talismanic Kohli won the Cricketer of the Year award besides finishing as the top batsman in Tests.

He’s just the 6th player of win it 3 times or more. Others are :

Sir Don BRADMAN – 10 times

Sir Garry SOBERS – 8 times

Sir Jack HOBBS – 3 times

Sir Viv RICHARD – 3 times

Shane WARNE – 3 times

2017: 🎖️
2018: 🎖️
2019: 🎖️

For the third year running, Virat Kohli is Wisden Cricket’s Leading Cricketer of the Year!

Virat Kohli also achieved one of the few accolades to have eluded him in his career so far, by being named as one of Wisden’s Five Cricketers of the Year, the oldest individual award in the sport.

Kohli, however, was the sport’s dominant figure in 2018, making 2735 international runs at 68.37 across all formats, more than 700 more than his nearest challenger, England’s Joe Root.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here